Flowertown Players is a 501 (C) (3) non-profit organization and has been creating magic for audience members in Summerville and the greater Charleston community for over 40 years. Each season, The James F. Dean Community Theatre stage comes alive with children shows, comedy, drama, and musical theatre, bringing education, entertainment and thought- provoking productions. 


The mission of the Flowertown Players is to produce and present quality community theatre to encourage and promote educational and literary performing arts projects for all segments of the tri-county population, and to provide a venue for thespians, artists, technicians and other creative people to practice their crafts. 


Built in 1930, our theatre originally acted as a movie theatre until 1977 when the almost condemned building was purchased from the city by a group of enthusiastic thespians that would later renovate the historic building, inch by inch, into The James F. Dean Theatre. Founded by James F. Dean and with the help of numerous community members, The Flowertown Players was created as a non-profit organization in 1977.  The movie theatre that once adorned animal heads on the walls, (yes, I said animal heads) has seen many changes of the past 40 years. I look forward to many more improvements  over the the course of the next 40. 




Our Main Stage series is comprised of 6 productions a year. Our main stage productions are a mix of musicals and plays ranging in content and ratings. These shows are produced in our 200 seat main theatre. 



Our Underground series is comprised of 3-4 productions a year. Our Underground productions are a mix of musicals and plays ranging in content and ratings. These shows are produced in our 60 seat black box theatre.  



Our youth series is comprised of 1-2 productions a year. Our Youth productions are made up of youth actors and the content is geared towards families and children 4+. Our youth shows are produced in our 200 seat main theatre. 

Special Events 


We have a collection of special events throughout the year including live jazz, stand-up comedy, and more. These are produced as limited time shows and may be on the Main Stage or in our Studio.


Meet the Board

Brandon Lutes

Member at Large

Sam Aconfora

Member at Large

Don Nye 

Member at Large

Dexcter Mack

Member at Large

Daniel Prentice

Board President

Bill McIntosh

Vice President

Monica Shows


Open Position


The Flowertown Players 

Box Office Hours

Wednesday - Saturday 12pm - 6pm 

133 South Main Street Summerville, SC 


©2019 by Flowertown Players. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Wix Facebook page